HB 383 — provides that out of state CHLs are NOT recognized in this state when a person is domiciled in this state. This would end the “Utah exception” where instructors were training for Utah CHLs to be used by Texas residents
HB 48 — this would eliminate classes for renewing CHL, and provide that license holders may continue to carry concealed where renewal is pending, even without a new card. (NOTE: We are not opposed to a licensed individual being able to carry concealed while a renewal application is in process. We do have an issue with an individual not being required to attend a renewal classes. As obvious from this posting, state laws are constantly being updated and changed, thus without a renewal class for license holders there is no way to update license holders of new law changes.)
HB 47 — would reduce the minimum length of the CHL class to 4 hours, instead of 10 hours. This is probably not bad in theory, as the 10 hour requirement is a bit excessive, but shortening to 4 hours will likely result in too many shortcuts.